Chakra Art

I have definately been in a state of flow the last couple of nights. I finished several paintings in my new series of the 7 chakras. I am so inspired and filled with energy. To paint these vibrantly coloured paintings is just amazing. 


The word chakra derives from the Sanskrit word for "wheel" or "turning". The chakras are described as the energy centers along the spine located at major branchings of the nervous system.


I have painted the following seven primary chakras and the symbols in the paintings are sanskrit:
- Muladhara -  Root Chakra (last bone in spinal cord, the coccyx)
- Swadhisthana - Sacral Chakra (ovaries/prostate)
- Manipura - Solar Plexus Chakra (navel area)

- Anahata - Heart Chakra (heart area)
- Vishuddha - Throat Chakra (throat and neck area)
- Ajna - Third Eye Chakra (pineal gland or third eye)
- Sahasrara - Crown Chakra (top of the head; 'soft spot' of a newborn)

Please comment:

Latest Posts

Latest comments